Linen tops

IMG_20160621_123344jhkj
When you buy yarn abroad, it is only natural that you buy more than you need. So I did. And I don’t like anything go to waste or stay unused, so I made a couple of tops from the leftover yarn from the linen dress (see below).

One of the tops is reversible and has exposed seams and the other has mesh on the shoulders in a contrasting yarn.

The tops are made in the same gauge and measures as the linen dress, and are fitted to my excact size. Both tops weigh around 200 grams.

I have tried to describe how the tops are constructed, and hope the descriptions of techniques below can be of some help. I really recommend googling some of these techniques if you don’t know them from before.

 

Top with exposed seamsIMG_20160621_123425

The tank top with exposed seams is knit in reverse stockinette stitch, with a bottom edge in garter stitch.

It is knit from the bottom up, and in 4 pieces. The top is fitted, with decreases and increases in the sides of every one of the pieces it is made from.

The edges of each piece are made with a double edge stitch, so that they stand out clearly, but still are neat and firm. The pieces are sewn together with mattress stitch. The shoulder seams are sewn with kitchener stitch, and these seams are invisible.

I have used sloped bindoff under the arms and around the neckline, so that the lines are totally smooth. There is no extra edging neither around the arms or the neck, since it is unessecary.

All ends are fastened inside the exposed seams, so that they are invisible on both the inside and outside. As you may have noticed, I like to have my options open and to save myself from extra work, so if anything can be used more than one way, I am really happy with it.

The top can therefore be worn with the seams on the outside (as originally intended), but it can also be turned inside out. The inside is in stockinette stitch, and has a bottom garter stitch edge. This is quite neat, but a little boring I think. 

The top is also quite cool when worn with the back and front sides swapped, for a night on the town this would be my preferred way to wear it.

Top with mesh

IMG_20160621_122836
The tank top with mesh on the shoulders was an idea I got when I pulled out my sun hat from last year. I had some scrap yarn left from this hat project that I thought would look good together with the pure linen yarn.

The scraps are 50 % linen and 50 % cotton in a beige/white mixed color. (This yarn is Drops Bomull-Lin, but I have divided the 4 ply yarn into 4 singles, and I used a single for the top.)

To avoid that the bottom of this top rolls up, I have used a rib stitch pattern consisting of k 3, p 1.

Then I switched to stockinette st, but let the ribbing run through to the armholes.

All edges are knit with double edge st to keep them firm. This is especially important for the mesh part, since the yarn is really thin. It would probably sag if another edge stitch technique was used, since the linen yarn is fairly heavy compared to the cotton-linen mix yarn.IMG_20160621_123206 (1)kojpioj

I used sloped bindoff on this top too, and after rounding off under the arms, I switched yarn, needles and pattern.

On the last picture it is possible to see the rib pattern in the side.

This top can also be worn with the back side in front.

The mesh pattern is quite simple, and you can of course use any mesh pattern as long as it doesn’t have a lopside to it. It is possible to knit the mesh pattern in two parts, but since I had already made the other top, and knew the measures well, I knit it in one piece from the back and all the way to the front, where I kitchenered it together with the linen.

Legg igjen en kommentar

